Welcome to the New Drugwonks.com http://drugwonks.com/index DrugWonks.com | Debating Today's Drugs Policies en-us Thu, 06 Sep 2007 10:55:48 -0400 Sat, 03 Aug 2013 12:20:34 -0400 http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss Psyclone WMS 4.4.9 info@drugwonks.com (drugwonks) cpernice@psycloneinc.com (Christopher Pernice) ICER Hires More Human Shields For Rationing http://drugwonks.com/blog/icer-hires-more-human-shields-for-rationing ICER recruits true believers of price controls and rationing to pose as patient advocates Fri, 22 Jul 2016 15:34:01 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/icer-hires-more-human-shields-for-rationing Roy Misses the Value Proposition http://drugwonks.com/blog/roy-misses-the-value-proposition During a Presidential election cycle, facts are often the first casualty. Avik Roy argues that the GOP needs a “clear plan to tackle the high and rising price of branded prescription drugs.” He calls it a Republican “blind spot.” And he’s right – but for the wrong reasons. Wed, 20 Jul 2016 06:29:06 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/roy-misses-the-value-proposition Avik Roy is Wrong on How to Reduce Drug Prices http://drugwonks.com/blog/avik-roy-is-wrong-on-how-to-reduce-drug-prices Nothing free market about creating a government run drug price cartel Thu, 14 Jul 2016 13:44:27 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/avik-roy-is-wrong-on-how-to-reduce-drug-prices Much Congressional ado about ADOs http://drugwonks.com/blog/much-congressional-ado-about-ados Potent report language on Abuse Deterrent Opioids (ADOs) from the House Labor HHS Appropriations Subcommittee Report for Fiscal 2017. ADOs can't help if patients don't have access to them. It's that simple. Thu, 14 Jul 2016 07:13:12 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/much-congressional-ado-about-ados Incentivizing Antibiotics http://drugwonks.com/blog/incentivizing-antibiotics To foster the discovery of truly innovative medicines, drug companies may need to be offered more extensive inducements, including tax breaks or market guarantees. The federal government may even need to do what it has done for antiradiation drugs and some vaccines, he said: Pay for their development and buy and stock these products itself Wed, 13 Jul 2016 08:13:35 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/incentivizing-antibiotics If Brexit, whither EMA? http://drugwonks.com/blog/if-brexit-whither-ema Tue, 12 Jul 2016 05:56:54 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/if-brexit-whither-ema Advancing Companion Diagnostics http://drugwonks.com/blog/advancing-companion-diagnostics Thu, 07 Jul 2016 06:34:32 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/advancing-companion-diagnostics For a more independent FDA http://drugwonks.com/blog/for-a-more-independent-fda Tue, 05 Jul 2016 06:58:15 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/for-a-more-independent-fda JAMA and Pharma Freebies: Same Slander. Different Day. http://drugwonks.com/blog/jama-and-pharma-freebies-same-slander-different-day Much ado about pharma freebies to physicians. Much ado about nothing medically and everything politically. A new study published by JAMA Internal Medicine (Pharmaceutical Industry–Sponsored Meals and Physician Prescribing Patterns for Medicare Beneficiaries) makes it sound (as Meagan McArdle has written for Bloomberg), that your doctor is “willing to sell you out for the price of a sandwich.” It’s not that simple … or true. Wed, 29 Jun 2016 08:57:52 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/jama-and-pharma-freebies-same-slander-different-day Platform Prattle http://drugwonks.com/blog/platform-prattle Draft Democratic platform calls for both drug importation and direct Federeal negotiation for Medicare and Medicaid. Populist rhetoric isn't good for the public health. "Facts," as John Adams said, "are pesky things." Tue, 28 Jun 2016 06:56:40 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/platform-prattle Frank and Honest Disucssion on the Value of Innovation http://drugwonks.com/blog/frank-and-honest-disucssion-on-the-value-of-innovation Pharmaceutical innovation has not only revolutionized the field of health care and significantly contributed to the fight against cancer, but it also allows Canadian governments to save billions of dollars. This is the general thrust of a Research Paper published today by the MEI, prepared by Frank R. Lichtenberg, Professor at the Columbia University Graduate School of Business and internationally renowned expert in this field of research. Mon, 27 Jun 2016 10:26:16 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/frank-and-honest-disucssion-on-the-value-of-innovation ICER's Moral Vision: Repair Potholes Instead of Rescuing Lung Cancer Patients http://drugwonks.com/blog/icer-s-moral-vision-repair-potholes-instead-of-rescuing-lung-cancer-patients Thu, 23 Jun 2016 15:34:09 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/icer-s-moral-vision-repair-potholes-instead-of-rescuing-lung-cancer-patients CREATing a generic "get out of jail free" card http://drugwonks.com/blog/creating-a-generic-get-out-of-jail-free-card CREATES Act a “get out of jail free card” for generics makers. Thu, 23 Jun 2016 15:03:47 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/creating-a-generic-get-out-of-jail-free-card JAMA Peddles Rx Payment Propaganda Posing as Research http://drugwonks.com/blog/jama-peddles-rx-payment-propaganda-posing-as-research Wed, 22 Jun 2016 17:35:21 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/jama-peddles-rx-payment-propaganda-posing-as-research The CREATES Act: Avoiding Unintended Consequences and Hidden Agendas http://drugwonks.com/blog/the-creates-act-avoiding-unintended-consequences-and-hidden-agendas The road to Hell is paved with good intentions -- and often hidden agendas. More careful consideration needs to be inserted into the CREATES Act design so that it more clearly addressed its intent and avoids unintended consequences or hidden agendas. Patient safety, public health, and healthcare innovation mustn't become innocent victims. Mon, 20 Jun 2016 06:49:59 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/the-creates-act-avoiding-unintended-consequences-and-hidden-agendas Besmirching White Oak http://drugwonks.com/blog/besmirching-white-oak A very upsetting story about an FDA official who sold information to an investor. This person should go to jail. For a long stretch. For shame. Thu, 16 Jun 2016 09:11:26 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/besmirching-white-oak ICER: A Cancer Survivor/Marathon Runner's Perspective http://drugwonks.com/blog/icer-a-cancer-survivor-marathon-runner-s-perspective ICER guidelines violate the Hippocratic Oath Wed, 15 Jun 2016 15:27:14 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/icer-a-cancer-survivor-marathon-runner-s-perspective When it comes to Biosimilars -- Knowledge is Safety http://drugwonks.com/blog/when-it-comes-to-biosimilars-knowledge-is-safety Safety and trust are exactly why transparency-in-labeling is needed. As Sumant Ramachandra, Senior Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer at Pfizer’s Hospira unit, has said, “Communications fosters confidence.” Tue, 14 Jun 2016 06:15:03 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/when-it-comes-to-biosimilars-knowledge-is-safety TIme to wake up to Antibiotic Resistance http://drugwonks.com/blog/time-to-wake-up-to-antibiotic-resistance For the first time, a person in the U.S. has been infected with bacteria resistant to an antibiotic used as a last resort. The woman, who is from Pennsylvania, is recovering after it was discovered she was carrying a strain of E. coli resistant to the antibiotic colistin. But public officials say this should serve as a wake-up call for everyone. Fri, 10 Jun 2016 14:32:59 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/time-to-wake-up-to-antibiotic-resistance Peter Loftus Lead Astray By ICER On Cancer Drug Costs http://drugwonks.com/blog/peter-loftus-lead-astray-by-steve-pearson Once again, ICER combines factoids with fiction to claim new drugs are too expensive. Tue, 07 Jun 2016 15:30:56 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/peter-loftus-lead-astray-by-steve-pearson