Welcome to the New Drugwonks.com http://drugwonks.com/index DrugWonks.com | Debating Today's Drugs Policies en-us Thu, 06 Sep 2007 10:55:48 -0400 Sat, 03 Aug 2013 12:20:34 -0400 http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss Psyclone WMS 4.4.9 info@drugwonks.com (drugwonks) cpernice@psycloneinc.com (Christopher Pernice) Why I Am Very Thankful For Pharma http://drugwonks.com/blog/why-i-am-very-thankful-for-pharma Pharma has done more good in less time than any other enterprise in human history Wed, 25 Nov 2015 14:42:58 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/why-i-am-very-thankful-for-pharma Healthcare Reform? Don't Give Up the Ship. http://drugwonks.com/blog/healthcare-reform-don-t-give-up-the-ship The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) insisted Tuesday that the individual health insurance markets under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) have a strong future, despite a warning from one of the nation's biggest insurers that it may drop out of the markets due to unsustainable losses. "Public companies do not pursue programs that cost the company hundreds of millions of dollars in losses," Pitts said. "For that, rocket science is not required." Wed, 25 Nov 2015 07:24:56 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/healthcare-reform-don-t-give-up-the-ship Doctors Still Shouldn't Use Cost To Decide What Drugs To Use http://drugwonks.com/blog/doctors-still-shouldn-t-use-cost-to-decide-what-drugs-to-use Mon, 23 Nov 2015 13:56:20 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/doctors-still-shouldn-t-use-cost-to-decide-what-drugs-to-use Bass Pfishing and Hedge Fund Hijinks http://drugwonks.com/blog/bass-pfishing-and-hedge-fund-hijinks Hedge-fund investors are coming to raid your medicine cabinet. Cutting-edge treatments for diseases affecting millions of Americans are threatened by Wall Street’s latest moneymaking scheme. The ploy: Hedge funds bet against a drug company’s stock price, launch attacks against the firm’s patents on its best-selling medicines and then reap windfall profits when investors panic and the stock price plummets. Unless Congress protects pharmaceutical-research firms from these assaults, funding for drug discovery will dry up and many new treatments won’t ever make it into the hands of patients. Mon, 23 Nov 2015 07:35:20 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/bass-pfishing-and-hedge-fund-hijinks Express Scripts Pulls a Putinesque Move on Linden http://drugwonks.com/blog/express-scripts-pulls-a-putinesque-move-on-linden Fri, 20 Nov 2015 11:16:43 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/express-scripts-pulls-a-putinesque-move-on-linden Turkish Delight http://drugwonks.com/blog/turkish-delight I’ve just returned from the World Cancer Leaders’ Summit in Istanbul. (The event was held in partnership with the International Agency for Research on Cancer, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and the World Health Organization.) It was a Turkish delight in more ways than one. Thu, 19 Nov 2015 09:24:31 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/turkish-delight Should Doctors Worry About the Cost of Extending Life? http://drugwonks.com/blog/should-doctors-worry-about-the-cost-of-extending-life Doctors should not provide bedside rationing Tue, 17 Nov 2015 22:04:10 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/should-doctors-worry-about-the-cost-of-extending-life A Garden (State) Variety Bad Idea for Drug Pricing Reform http://drugwonks.com/blog/a-garden-state-variety-bad-idea-for-drug-pricing-reform White House contenders want to address – but don't understand – prescription drugs prices. The Center for American Progress has a plan. A bad one. The CAP plan would effectively turn the U.S. government into the world's biggest intellectual property thief, thus gutting pharmaceutical innovation and crippling New Jersey's economy. Tue, 17 Nov 2015 10:47:50 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/a-garden-state-variety-bad-idea-for-drug-pricing-reform Pharmaceutical Pricing -- Let's Debate the Facts http://drugwonks.com/blog/pharmaceutical-pricing-let-s-debate-the-facts Medicines aren’t priced in a vacuum. Pricing decisions are based on numerous meetings and tough negotiations between manufacturers and payers over a long period of time – often years before the FDA approves a product. So, when you hear about a new medicine and payers are complaining about the price, it’s (at best) disingenuous, but they get away with it. A new study from the IMS Institute for Healthcare Informatics puts some hard numbers behind the debate. And it’s about time. Fri, 13 Nov 2015 15:13:12 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/pharmaceutical-pricing-let-s-debate-the-facts PCSK9 Patient Assistance Programs: Do ask. Do tell. http://drugwonks.com/blog/pcsk9-patient-assistance-programs-do-ask-do-tell Much ado about PCSK9 inhibitor patient assistance programs that requires users to share rights to their personal health information. Is this a legitimate quid pro quo? That’s a tough question – but not the most important one. Wed, 11 Nov 2015 07:40:42 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/pcsk9-patient-assistance-programs-do-ask-do-tell The Truth About Specialty Drugs http://drugwonks.com/blog/the-truth-about-specialty-drugs The truth about the real cost and value of new medicines is revealed in this important essay Tue, 10 Nov 2015 11:49:48 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/the-truth-about-specialty-drugs Asking the right questions about biosimilars http://drugwonks.com/blog/asking-the-right-questions-about-biosimilars Voltaire said, “Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers.” And the same can be said of medicines regulators. But we need to ask the right ones or we fall into the trap that Thomas Pynchon warns about when he writes, ““If they can get you asking the wrong questions, they don't have to worry about answers.” “They” can broadly be defined as those focusing on biosimilars exclusively as a cost-saving mechanism. Safety and quality must always drive the regulatory discussion. Mon, 09 Nov 2015 10:06:16 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/asking-the-right-questions-about-biosimilars Peter Bach's Deadly Cancer Math http://drugwonks.com/blog/peter-bach-s-deadly-cancer-math Fri, 06 Nov 2015 11:05:36 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/peter-bach-s-deadly-cancer-math Invest in Cures To Save Medicare, Cut Taxes http://drugwonks.com/blog/invest-in-cures-to-save-medicare-cut-taxes Mon, 02 Nov 2015 12:46:31 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/invest-in-cures-to-save-medicare-cut-taxes Kansas City Royals Fans Have Another Reason To Celebrate http://drugwonks.com/blog/kansas-city-royals-fans-have-another-reason-to-celebrate Mon, 02 Nov 2015 12:32:55 -0500 http://drugwonks.com/blog/kansas-city-royals-fans-have-another-reason-to-celebrate FTC just plain wrong on biosimilar naming http://drugwonks.com/blog/ftc-just-plain-wrong-on-biosimilar-naming In a comment filed in response to FDA's proposal, the FTC said distinct suffixes could lead physicians to believe biosimilars differ from their reference products in clinically meaningful ways. That's dangerously wrong, Sat, 31 Oct 2015 07:54:34 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/ftc-just-plain-wrong-on-biosimilar-naming Confirm Califf, says NEJM http://drugwonks.com/blog/confirm-califf-says-nejm An editorial in the New England Journal of Medicine endorsed Robert Califf for FDA commissioner. Written by Editor-in-Chief Jeffrey Drazen, the editorial rejected criticisms of Califf's nomination due to his industry ties, saying that "it is impossible to argue that Califf has a pro-industry bias" based on the outcomes of industry-sponsored clinical trials in which he was an investigator Thu, 29 Oct 2015 21:06:58 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/confirm-califf-says-nejm BioPharm companies are Inviting Price Controls By Inaction http://drugwonks.com/blog/biopharm-companies-are-inviting-price-controls-by-inaction Stuffing victory down the jaws of defeat Thu, 29 Oct 2015 17:07:46 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/biopharm-companies-are-inviting-price-controls-by-inaction Are We Still Thrilled? Express Scripts Seeking to Limit Access to Cancer Rx the Same Way It Did With Hep C http://drugwonks.com/blog/are-we-still-thrilled-express-scripts-seeking-to-limit-access-to-cancer-rx-the-same-way-it-did-with-hep-c Fri, 23 Oct 2015 16:56:56 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/are-we-still-thrilled-express-scripts-seeking-to-limit-access-to-cancer-rx-the-same-way-it-did-with-hep-c Don Wright: Outrunning Cancer http://drugwonks.com/blog/outrunning-cancer Fri, 23 Oct 2015 16:34:06 -0400 http://drugwonks.com/blog/outrunning-cancer